Roasted

August 6, 2010 at 4:25 pm Leave a comment

Earlier today, my bod got hungry. Hungry, but lazy. You see, I did a pretty extensive leg workout earlier this morning (involving more squats and lunges than I want to talk about) and the legs simply didn’t want to help me out after that. We’ll see if they cooperate later when I try to take them for a nice 6 mile run in this humidity.

Anywho, in an attempt to avoid going to the grocery store or pick up food, I decided to make whatever I could find and turn it into some sort of meal. Here’s what I ended up with:

Roasted veggies (sweet potato, onion, tomato, orange pepper, green pepper, and baby carrots) seasoned with salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and some other handful of random spices I can’t think of at the moment all tossed in olive oil and placed in a roasting pan.

I roasted them for a while – I’d say somewhere around 20 minutes at least? – at 375* and then scooped some out, bowled it, and coated it in some marinara sauce. To get some whole grain carbs in there I also toasted up my last piece of Wave Hill bread spread with some almond butter. I think the veggies with marinara sauce might sound stranger than it actually is — the combination is actually really good and satisfying. I suspect there might be a bit more sodium going on in this than I probably should be going for, but I’m not in the mood to be a stickler about that. Salt is yummy.

Not bad for zero effort!

Entry filed under: Meals.

Artichoke Perfection Swedish Pancakes

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


“It’s an empowering idea. The entire goliath of the food industry is ultimately driven and determined by the choices we make as the waiter gets impatient for our order or in the practicalities and whimsies of what we load into our shopping carts or farmers’ market bags.” - Jonathan Safran Foer ..............................................................

