Alice’s Tea Cup

August 18, 2010 at 2:33 pm 1 comment

The other morning I had a mission. That mission was to find a cute new breakfast place that was walking distance to my apartment.

I have reached that point lately where I’ve become bored of my neighborhood’s food options — now, it’s definitely true that the downtown food scene is more my style, but I was determined to at least put the effort in to find some new spots.

We can just call it a mission accomplished.

Alice’s tea cup on the Upper East Side is a totally bizarre, very cutesy, but really good spot if you’re looking for a really good cup of coffee, some nice breakfast, and especially a steaming cup of tea.

I ordered the vegetarian omelette (which I think had asparagus, mushrooms, onions, and spinach) with some cheddar cheese and a side of whole grain toast. Easy right?

The asparagus was an especially nice touch. Really good in an omelette.

Now all of this was all well and good and tasty and fine, but the real highlight of the situation (besides the individual bodum french presses) was the incredible scone they gave us when their credit card machine was being slow:

I’ve never been so simultaneously happy and sad that Charlie doesn’t eat sugar — this thing had chocolate chips and butterscotch chips and I promptly ate every bite of it. Go there and order from their book of tea options and eat their scones. Just do it.

Entry filed under: Meals.

Happy Tastebuds Crunchy Summer Salad

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. peggy  |  August 30, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    Your mom gave my your blog address and I just scrolled through it and you made me so hungry. I love the way you eat and sing. I will bookmark it and use it for inspiration. It looks as if you are an excellent cook. My best, PK

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


“It’s an empowering idea. The entire goliath of the food industry is ultimately driven and determined by the choices we make as the waiter gets impatient for our order or in the practicalities and whimsies of what we load into our shopping carts or farmers’ market bags.” - Jonathan Safran Foer ..............................................................

