back on the horse (hah!)

December 25, 2010 at 10:26 pm 1 comment

see what i did there? that was a funny joke because that’s a saying. and my blog is called the stuffed horse. and i meant it both ways. great!!!!!!!!

ok anyways, i have many apologies to be said. i have been absent for a long long time. doing things. eating things. and not blogging about them. spirits and morale were low when access to a kitchen went away… but nevertheless there are still recipes and stories to be shared. so here i am. showing up just in time like a true christmas miracle.

let’s start at the beginning. one. at. a. time.

jessica’s mulligatawny soup (adapted from 1,000 vegetarian recipes by carol gelles)

2 tablespoons of olive oil

1 cup of onions, chopped

1/2 cup of carrots, chopped

1/2 cup of celery, chopped

1/2 cup of mushrooms, chopped

1 tablespoon of flour

1 tablespoon of curry powder

2 cups of vegetable broth

1 cup of water

3/4 cup of unsweetened lite coconut milk

1/2 cup of potatoes, chopped

1 cup of kale, chopped

1 can of northern white beans, rinsed

2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground red pepper

Directions:

1) In a saucepan, melt the butter or margerine over medium-high heat. Add the onions; cook, stirring, until softened, about 2 minutes. Add the carrots, celery, potatoes, and mushrooms; cook, stirring, until softened, about 3 minutes.

 

2) Stir in the flour and curry powder until absorbed. Add the kale and northern white beans and stir in until softened.

3) Add the broth, water, and coconut milk. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, uncovered, for 20 minutes or more.

4) Stir in the lemon juice, salt, and red pepper; simmer for at least 5 minutes. Serve and enjoy!

yum yums.

Entry filed under: Meals.

the best grilled cheese sandwiches ever southampton daze

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Karla Bodin (Hornisch)  |  January 8, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    Hi Jessica! I’m so glad my Mom told me about your website. It’s awesome and I am glad to know there are other people out there as passionate about good food as I am! I adapted this recipe earlier today and it turned out wonderful! I love curry… especially in the colder months. I didn’t have the Coconut Milk, Mushrooms or Celery (I know Celery is a staple but I used it up in a Beef Daube recipe from Bon Appetite earlier this week and it is like 1 degree outside so I am not going out to get anything!) Anyway, I substituted with a can of Diced Tomatoes, 1/4 Cup Dry White Wine and a ton of Fresh Parsley. I also added Diced Chicken. It was wonderful and had the perfect warming effect that I look for from my food this time of year! Your pictures are inspiring and all the fresh Fruits and Veggies make my mouth water… I can hardly wait for the Farmer’s Markets to start up around here again… in like 5 months. I also appreciate your take on Fresh, Natural and Organic foods as I also try my best to incorporate as much of it into our diet as possible. I look forward to reading about your future escapades with food and thanks for inspiring my soup creation today!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


“It’s an empowering idea. The entire goliath of the food industry is ultimately driven and determined by the choices we make as the waiter gets impatient for our order or in the practicalities and whimsies of what we load into our shopping carts or farmers’ market bags.” - Jonathan Safran Foer ..............................................................

