10 things I can’t (slash don’t want to) live without

April 7, 2011 at 9:29 pm 1 comment

#10) Boudin San Francisco Sourdough Bread

This is SUCH good bread. Doughy in the middle, crunchy on the outside, but has that almost sticky sourdough crust that is so good that you find yourself devouring a week’s worth of bread in one sitting. (Am I the only one that happens to?) If you don’t live in San Francisco, you can make like me and order their bread online here, and then toast it up in the oven until your whole house smells like sourdough. If you pair this fresh out of the oven with some good cheese, your life will be forever changed.

#9) MapMyRun.com

This website completely transformed the way I thought about running and allows me to not only search for recommended routes, but also calculate the mileage of my runs. Most people have seen this by now, but if you haven’t yet and like to run (or walk!), check it out!

#8) The Office

I haven’t been this attached to television characters since I was 12 and crying over Dawson’s Creek episodes. (Anyone?) Michael Scott, you will be dearly missed.

#7) Magnolia Bakery Cupcakes

I have been and probably always will be on Team Magnolia. Yellow cupcake with chocolate buttercream frosting beats stupid Crumbs or Buttercup any day. I challenge you to eat one of their cupcakes and not smile.

#6) Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer

You didn’t think I could get through a top-ten countdown without making a plug for my favorite book did you? Read it please.

#5) Raw Oysters

How did I live so much life thinking these were gross? They are salty, briny, and when paired with a spicy tartar sauce, they are such a treat to enjoy–well, at least during the months of R.

#4) Barefoot Contessa

What can I say? I absolutely love this woman. Anyone who quits their job as a high paying White House Nuclear Policy Analyst to open a bakery by the ocean is OK by me. Plus she makes the most basic of recipes seem incredibly polished. I am hoping that some day we will meet and she will invite me over for one of her casual parties and we can eat roasted shrimp cocktail and her seafood stew and we can talk about important things like how pretty hydrangeas are and how calming the ocean breeze feels in summer…

#3) Dr. Hauschka’s moisturing daycream

Yeah, it’s kinda weird that face moisturizer made my top ten list. It’s even weirder that I am so sure that it needs to be there. But honestly, this stuff is like an essential tonic that has kept my face from cracking off in bitter winds while working on research boats and kept it from peeling after endless preseason days on the soccer field in the blazing sun. If you find yourself with chronic dry skin and are looking for a wholesome fix, this stuff is so so great.

#2) Field Roast Company’s Meatless Chipotle Sausages

I have converted some of the toughest meat-eaters I know into fans of this stuff — They’re spicy, flavorful, super filling, and don’t require you to ingest animal cartilage and feces as is the case with the real deal. I’m usually not a huge advocate of the fake meats, but this guy is definitely an exception. Seriously SO yum. They’re sold at Whole Foods, so go get them. Now.

#1) Six Point Sweet Action

Oh my god. If you haven’t tried this beer yet, you need to fly to NYC and do just that. Just make sure you either look up Manhattan bars that serve this delight on tap, or head straight to hipster-central in Brooklyn to enjoy. I have already decided that at every major event in my life, I plan to get a keg of this stuff. Yeah, it’s that good. The only really tough part is that Sixpoint Brewery is still so teeny that they don’t bottle their craft beer. So hit up Whole Foods on Bowery and Houston at the right time, and you can fill yourself one nice take-home growler. Or twenty. And bring me one please!

Entry filed under: Meals.

Chickpea + Quinoa Salad seen and eaten over the weekend

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lauren  |  April 11, 2011 at 2:19 am

    1. I am very happy you are blogging about what you eat again…now I can continually know whats your eating and pretend we are dinning together.
    2. I was way on board with your to #10 list until my name was missing from it.
    3. 12 days….that is all

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


“It’s an empowering idea. The entire goliath of the food industry is ultimately driven and determined by the choices we make as the waiter gets impatient for our order or in the practicalities and whimsies of what we load into our shopping carts or farmers’ market bags.” - Jonathan Safran Foer ..............................................................

